Tonight as I was making Easter preparations, my mother in law and I watched Country Strong.  I must have been living in the dark b/c I didn’t know the plot of the movie other than it’s a comeback story and Gwyneth Paltrow sings.

Did you see the movie…  if you haven’t, spoiler alert coming…

Movie plot: Kelly Canter (GP’s character) has an alcohol problem, gets drunk when she is 5 months pregnant, trips while on stage, falls, and loses the baby.  So much devastation!  The movie ends with Kelly giving the most amazing performance, then she pops pills and commits suicide.  (I did say spoiler…)

How I wish this movie ended in a different place…  may be trite, but I am a sucker for a happy ending; believe in hope.  How about this for an ending, build off the tag line, “it doesn’t matter where you’ve been as long as you come back strong”.

Things happen in life; some great, some good, and some that well are at the other end of the spectrum, and just really stink (you thought I was going to write something else, didn’t you, I thought it).  It is how you deal with those times/things that is important…  that is what the study of optimism is all about.  That you have a goal, obstacles come up, and you deal with them…

It is the notion of coming back strong that is so great.  I had a miscarriage.  It was devastating.  But I became pregnant again, I was scared for the 1st 20 weeks…  and I have been thankful for the past 6 years for my amazing son.  I feel I have come back stronger…

That is my wish for you…  come back strong.  Believe.  Know you are not alone.  It does get better.

