The Real Housewives of New Jersey and Miscarriage.

While making my lunch last week I turned on the TV and found the first season (?) of The Real Housewives of NJ.  (NBC is re-running old episodes.)  I grew up in NJ and not far from the town the reality show is filmed in so I started watching.

I happen to catch the episode where one of The Real Housewives, Jacqueline Laurita, was talking about having her miscarriage and her thoughts about getting pregnant again.   Would she be able to be excited and enjoy getting pregnant again or would the dark cloud of the miscarriage hover over the new pregnancy.  The thought of not being able to fully enjoy her new pregnancy (if it did happen) made her very upset.

Having experienced a miscarriage myself,  I could totally relate to her feelings.  “Would I be able to enjoy my pregnancy after my miscarriage” or “would I be so worried that I would miscarry again” –  were my daily thoughts.

I believe most women who have experienced a miscarriage have these thoughts – unfortunately at the time they are having these thoughts they are thinking they are the only woman who is thinking like this – adding to the loneliness of their miscarriage.

If you know someone who has experienced a miscarriage – please let her know:

1) she is not alone – 1 in 5 pregnancies end in miscarriage

2) 99% of any thoughts she is having about her miscarriage have been thought of by most women who have had a miscarriage

3)encourage her to reach out to her friends and family and talk about her miscarriage – most likely she will find many other woman in her social circle who have also experienced a miscarriage

4)have her visit OurHopePlace.com (http://www.ourhopeplace.com)

where she can find comfort and advice from us and others who have gone before her on our healing journey from miscarriage

Thanks to Jacqueline for her honesty and “reality” about miscarriage.  And I do know that in later episodes Jacqueline welcomes a healthy baby boy – Congrats!!

