At OurHopePlace.com we aim to demystify miscarriage.  We think the most important thing is to acknowledge the loss.  We give advice as how to help…  all great.  But what I really wonder, is why don’t we prepare people?  There are all kinds of testing that we go through to ensure have a healthy baby.  Drs tell us about lots of stuff, but they NEVER mention miscarriage.  Wonder why?  Why are we left so unprepared?!

Well, I have recently learned that there are other things that they don’t tell you…

For example…  do you know what a prolapsed uterus is?  And that as it falls, yes your uterus can fall, it can impact your bladder and intestine.  There are a number of things that can contribute to a prolapsed uterus:  long labor, multiple births/pregnancies, over weight, and even genetics — that’s right, it is a genetic condition.

I didn’t  know what it meant, not sure I had heard the term prolapsed uterus…  I have asked a few close girlfriends.  Only two knew and said, I have a prolapsed uterus too, but the dr said don’t worry.  Hmmm, don’t worry???  I would say investigate…  there are things you can do now to strengthen your muscles to make it better for you… so maybe you can avoid surgery.  They are calling their doctors.  By the way, if you have a prolapsed uterus, you need to see a urogyn not a regular gyn.  It makes a difference…

I went for a second opinion regarding my diagnosis of a prolapsed uterus.  The second dr agreed with the diagnosis, agreed with the need for surgery, but said I needed a different technique.   How to choose?

I spoke to a 3rd doctor; he happened to be the head of all things Gyn at a university hospital…  he is some sort of a “demi god” in this field.  How lucky I spoke with him…  he helped me choose.  He pointed out that I probably had scaring from my appendix surgery.  B/c of this, he strongly suggested that I go with the doctor who could do the surgery visually, using robotics.

Women, we need to learn and share…  We need to know our bodies and notice changes.  We need to open the lines of communication!  Be supportive of each other…

I wish you good health!

