Hello www.OurHopePlace.com,
I have a miscarriage story to share.

In early 2000 after being married for 7 years, my husband and I found out we were pregnant! It was exciting and scary at the same time. I had just stopped taking the pill 2 months before. We waited a couple weeks before we told our friends and co-workers, but then we told EVERYONE. At 11.5 weeks pregnant, our best friends’ 2-month-old baby daughter died of an undiagnosed heart condition. It was indescribable. Two days later, I had a doctor’s appt for my pregnancy. They could not find the heartbeat, and seemed rather alarmed considering I am a thin person and it should’ve been easy. The next day, the worst was confirmed via ultrasound. “Fetal demise” they called it. I was shocked and my husband was out of town on business until that evening. That same night was the funeral for our friends’ baby daughter. It’s odd, but one of my initial thoughts was that this was going to somehow help our friends get through their grieving process. It actually did I think, because we grieved together. That same week I had a D&C, which I struggled with whether I wanted to do it or not.

For 6 months I felt emotionally devastated. My husband was saddened too, but found it difficult to talk about it anymore. Friends and family didn’t always understand, but generally wanted to be comforting. I cried out to God to gain understanding and He answered. I found every Bible verse that related to God’s promises regarding children. I underlined them. I read them out loud. I claimed them as my right as one of God’s children. I believed in my heart that my prayers would be answered. They were the next month. When it was time for the hearing the heartbeat appointment, I cried with joy when they found it. Our son Christian was born 5 weeks early. Three years later, our daughter Karissa was born 8 weeks early. Both are healthy, happy little blessings!

During the miscarriage ultrasound, I remember the tech and the doctor saying “there is evidence of a second one…” and I can only assume that meant a twin. At that time, I had no clue that I had a medical condition with my uterus that would have made carrying twins to term or even close, impossible. Looking back, I can see how everything has been worked out for my good.

-Krista Dunk
Co-Founder, Koinonia Business Women
www.KBwomen.com
www.KBwomen.blogspot.com

