From a testimonial sent to OurHopePlace.com
I know the sorrow and pain many have gone through after having had 5 miscarriages myself.  We were high school sweethearts and two weeks after my husband graduated from college, we were married.  I was 20 and my husband was 21.  We married in June and I was pregnant in August.  I went to the doctor and he comfirmed my pregnancy.  Back in 1960, there was no home test, you gave the nurse a urine sample and the doctor examined you.  Everything was fine, except I was B neg blood and my husband was A pos, but we were both reassured everything would be ok.  I did have a large cyst on my ovary and the doctor was supprised I got pregnant so easy.
Everything was going good until I was in the second week of my 4th month, the bleeding started.  I was put in the hospital and had a miscarriage 3 days later.
 
The doctor said it was not uncommon to lose a baby.  I was pregnant again 3 months later and the same thing happened in the beginning of my 4th month.  He could not find anything wrong with me, but told us not to get pregnant for 1 year.  I remember being so depressed and crying most of the time.  Thank God my husband was so strong and caring, he got me throught the worst part.  We are Catholics and birth control was not an option, so again 2 months later I was pregnant for the third time.  I had to quit my job, stay in bed, take provera, shots every 3 days of dilutin (not sure of the spelling), and vitamin K.  I wasn’t allowed out of bed until my 5th month after having cramps most of my 4th month.  Prayed a lot to St. Jude.
 
In my 8th month, my blood pressure was high and had lots of swelling.  The doctor was afraid of preclamsia, so back to bed and a special diet.  I finally delivered my first son in May and it was the happest day of our lives.  It was a hard delivery and long labor even with pitocin.  I did hemmorage after he was delivered, but all was taken care of and the baby was healthy.
 
My second son was born 13 months later and I only had to spend the 4th month off my feet and I also took provera.   Another healthy baby.
 
When I got pregnant again 2 years later I had another miscarriage in my 4th month, same time as the 2 previous.  We were so very upset, we both wanted a large family and then I had 2 more miscarriages.   I went to see 3 other doctor’s for consults to find out what the problem might be, but they said go back to my first doctor because he had success.  I was now 28 and the doctor’s started talking about ahysterectomy and I felt I was too young and wanted at least one more child.  I was very depressed and not coming out of the depression as before.  I kept thinking about the 5 babies I lost and somehow blamed myself.
I was put on birth control pills for 6 months to ease the heavy bleeding of my periods and painful cramps that lasted 5 days or more.
 
My last pregnancy I did the same procedure as the first.  Same medicine and stayed off my feet as much as possible because I had a 4 and 5 year old.  I was very frightened, but thank God our 3rd son was born in 1969 and we were so thrilled to have 3 children and knew what was ahead.  I did have the hysterectomy in my 30’s, but they left 1 ovary because of my age.  I had very advanced endrometrios, it was everywhere, they did remove the ovary with the large cyst.  But who knows what really caused the miscarriages.  My husband and I still thank God to this day for our wonderful sons.
 
I know what the women are going through when a miscarriage happens and what it can do to your life, but never give up hope.  The worst part was not knowing why it happened or why me, My friends were all having babies when I was having miscarriages and they just didn’t quite understand how I felt. Today there are many support groups, which I think is wonderful, I never had a chance to talk about it with someone who would understand the pain and dispair.  You can discuss your problems with people who know your feelings and they in turn can express there own. 
 
Today I have 5 grandchildren, see my sons every week, and have a happy retirement.  And will always think of the ones I lost, but also know how blessed I was to have had any children at all and I never gave up hope.
 
Thanks for reading this long story.
 
Judy
 
