This is my first time blogging on our site. My name is Laura and I am the other half (co-founder with Sharon) of Our Hope Place (www.OurHopePlace.com). I had a miscarriage before I had my daughter (who is now 7 1/2 – that 1/2 is really important to her). I also have a son who is 4 1/2 (he has not figured out the importance of the 1/2 yet). Before I had my miscarriage, the word “miscarriage” was just that – a word that I heard other people talk about. Once I had mine, the word “miscarriage” now had a feeling attached to it – it had depth and sadness. Anytime someone would say it in conversation, it was if that word “miscarriage” would echo. I could hear it from across a room or in a crowd. (I equate it to the same idea as when you buy a new car. It seems as if you never see the car you are about to buy anywhere and as soon as you buy it, you see the car up the street, on the highway 5 times on the way to the mall and the same exact colored car in front of you as you drop off your kids at school.)

It has now been over 8 years since I have had my miscarriage and the echo of the word is a little softer but still there. Since my miscarriage and starting Our Hope Place, women have shared many stories of their miscarriages with me – stories from friends that I knew for years but did not know they had suffered a miscarriage, stories from my mom’s friends about when they were young and stories from strangers when they ask about our website. So I guess I would say that my “new normal” is always carrying a little sadness inside for the baby I lost but also carrying hope to bring to others who come after me.

