Last week I went to the gyn for a test to check my bladder (little leakage when I am sick and I cough); the thought was this was this is a little issue.

Well turns out not a little thing, actually a little bit bigger.

Following the test, I had a consult with the doctor.  Seems I have a prolapsed uterus due to very weak muscles – really, really, really weak muscles.  So weak my doctor said, this is genetic.  Huh?  And I need surgery, a 5 hr surgery, HUH?  With tears running down my face, I tried to get some notes down.

I had no idea that when my grandmother had an issue with this (ps she was 80) that it could impact me.  Why didn’t anyone ask, tell or mention anything?    I had no idea when someone said I had a titled uterus, that was the beginning of this.  Again, why no conversation.

My doctor said years ago, even recently, most doctors would have said… just go on your way.   Maybe that is why no one asked or mentioned.

Turns out there are other factors that contribute to this – multiple pregnancies, difficult labors, over weight, …  Though my doctor said that regardless of other factors, this is genetic and the other factors just impact time (usually within 5 years).  That there are all kinds of studies on twins…  one with factors and one with out (amazing they could find all these people, but the did), both twins developed a prolapsed uterus – the only difference was time…

Here’s the thing, I wish I had known.  There are things you can try to do to prevent a prolapsed uterus (again, my doctor said it wouldn’t have helped me).  But once you have one, there isn’t much you can do…  and I read some of those natural treatments (mashed carrots where? no thanks!).  I also read that they don’t help very advanced cases like mine.  (Boo!)

It is amazing to me the things women are not prepared for…  I was not prepared for my miscarriage, I was not prepared for a prolapsed uterus, and I was not prepared for the (thankfully benign) lumps in my breasts).  Why isn’t there education?

There are 1 million miscarriages each year.  Approximately 50% of women 50 years and older have some degree of prolapsed uterus.  We need to better inform people…

Share this with a woman you know and love and want to be aware of things in life that could impact them:

for miscarriage:  ourhopeplace.com

for prolapsed uterus